Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2020-2021)

This Bass Connections project team aimed to identify, design and prototype new energy technologies, systems or approaches. Subteams addressed the trade-offs among technological design choices, environmental impacts, economic viability and other issues related to use. Each subteam produced a useful prototype and evaluated its environmental benefits and viability. While some subteams concentrated on building a physical prototype, others focused on alternatives like statistical analysis, mathematical modeling or computer simulation.


Fall 2020 – Spring 2021

Team Outputs

Prototypes (physical and conceptual) and accompanying evaluation of environmental and social benefits


Will Hess

This Team in the News

Meet the Members of the 2022-2023 Student Advisory Council

See related teams, Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2021-2022) and Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2019-2020).


Image: Members of the 2018-19 project team, by Jared Lazarus


Team Leaders

  • Emily Klein, Nicholas School of the Environment-Earth and Climate Sciences
  • Josiah Knight, Pratt School of Engineering-Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science

/undergraduate Team Members

  • Rebecca Lau, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Jeffrey Zheng, Chemistry (BS)
  • Benjamin Williams, Electrical & Computer Egr(BSE)
  • Natasha Von Seelen, Electrical & Computer Egr(BSE)
  • Margaret Sullivan, Electrical & Computer Egr(BSE)
  • Renata Starostka, Environmental Engineering(BSE)
  • Sophia Simms, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Maryam Shahid, Computer Science (BS)
  • Alison Rosenbaum, Environmental Sci/Policy (AB)
  • Annie Roberts, Environmental Sciences (BS)
  • Franco Picone, Economics (BS)
  • Michael McWilliams, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Powell Lowe, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Sunny Li, Civil Engineering (BSE)
  • Alessandra Allado, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Elizabeth Lamb, Political Science (AB)
  • Joseph Kochansky, Economics (BS)
  • James Kim, Electrical & Computer Egr(BSE)
  • Yiwen Jiang, Environmental Sci/Policy (AB)
  • Thomas Hessel, Computer Science (AB)
  • William Hess, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Ava Ganeshan, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Kyra Cooperman, Environmental Sci/Policy (AB)
  • Vanessa Chen, Computer Science (BS)
  • Elena Cavallero, Economics (BS)
  • Henry Burns, Economics (BS)
  • Ayooluwa Balogun, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)