Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2019-2020)

This Bass Connections project team aimed to identify, design and prototype new energy technologies, systems or approaches. Subteams addressed the trade-offs among technological design choices, environmental impacts, economic viability and other issues related to use. Each subteam produced a useful prototype and evaluated its environmental benefits and viability. While some subteams concentrated on building a physical prototype, others focused on alternatives like statistical analysis, mathematical modeling or computer simulation.


Fall 2019 – Spring 2020 

Team Outputs

Land Footprint Calculator Presentation

Land Footprint Calculator Final Report

Hand Dryers on Campus Presentation

Hand Dryers on Campus Final Report

Stirling Engine Fueled by Neglected Heat Presentation

Stirling Engine Fueled by Neglected Heat Final Report


Anjali Arora

See related teams, Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2020-2021) and Energy and the Environment: Design and Innovation (2018-2019).


Image: Flywheel energy storage design

Flywheel energy storage design

Team Leaders

  • Emily Klein, Nicholas School of the Environment-Earth and Climate Sciences
  • Josiah Knight, Pratt School of Engineering-Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science

/graduate Team Members

  • Edward Lins, Master of Environmental Management, Environmental Economics/Policy

/undergraduate Team Members

  • Anjali Arora, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Kaela Basmajian, Civil Engineering (BSE)
  • Scott Burstein, Earth and Climate Sciences (BS)
  • Mary Cobb, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Adesemi Elumaro, Computer Science (BS)
  • Max Issokson, Environmental Sciences (BS)
  • Samuel Osheroff, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Allen Qiu, Electrical & Computer Egr(BSE)
  • Carolyn Rossman, Civil Engineering (BSE)
  • Ryan Savell, Public Policy Studies (AB)
  • Alejandro Sevilla, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Vedant Singh, Mechanical Engineering (BSE)
  • Krista Stark, Environmental Sciences (BS)
  • Matthew Treiber, Economics (BS)
  • Alexander Weck, Civil Engineering (BSE)
  • Kathryn White, Civil Engineering (BSE)