Story+ (2019)

Story+ is a six-week summer research experience for undergraduate and graduate students interested in bringing academic research to life through dynamic storytelling. Undergraduates work in small teams with graduate student mentors, in a collaborative and creative research environment. Each project has a sponsor. Students learn to conduct qualitative, humanities-based research (e.g., archival research, narrative analysis, visual analysis, ethnography) and to communicate their research through effective storytelling techniques. Final projects may take the form of writing, websites, exhibits, short films or other genres, depending on the project’s goals.

2019 Projects

Team Leaders

  • Keisha Bentley-Edwards, School of Medicine-Medicine: General Internal Medicine
  • Jasmine Cobb, Arts & Sciences-African and African American Studies
  • Valerie Gillispie, Duke Libraries
  • Adam Hollowell, Sanford School of Public Policy
  • Tracy Jackson, Duke Libraries
  • Hannah Jacobs, Arts & Sciences-Art, Art History, and Visual Studies
  • Joshua Larkin Rowley, Duke Libraries
  • Kelley Lawton, Duke Libraries
  • Peace Lee, Divinity School–Th.D. Student
  • Amy McDonald, Duke Libraries
  • Eli Meyerhoff, Franklin Humanities Institute
  • Jerusha Neal, Divinity School
  • Hannah Rozear, Duke Libraries
  • Charlotte Sussman, Arts & Sciences-English

/graduate Team Members

  • Patricia Bass, Art and Art History-PHD
  • Amanda Bennett, Literature-PHD
  • Kathleen Burns, English-PHD
  • Meggan Cashwell, History-PHD
  • Jaime Gonzalez, Literature-PHD
  • Meredith Graham, Music-PHD
  • Quran Karriem, Cmp Media, Arts & Cultures-PhD
  • Amanda Lazarus, Art and Art History-PHD
  • Peace Lee, Doctor of Theology

/undergraduate Team Members

  • Erick Aguilar Ramos, Program II (AB)
  • Margot Armbruster
  • William Atkinson, GCS in Literature Program (AB), English (AB2)
  • Sara Baudhuin, Program II (AB)
  • Bailey Bogle, English (AB)
  • Bates Crawford
  • Dakota Douglas, Biology (BS)
  • Sonia Fillipow, Interdept PP/VMS (AB)
  • Clifford Haley IV, English (AB)
  • Ye Han, Economics (BS), Psychology (AB2)
  • Anna He
  • Merrit Jones, Robertson Scholarship - UNC
  • James Kelleher, Interdepartmental Major
  • Elias Kline
  • Sandra Luksic, Philosophy (AB), Political Science (AB2)
  • Julia Nasco, Political Science (AB)
  • Veronica Niamba, History (AB)
  • Emily Otero, Computer Science (AB), English (AB2)
  • Caroline Petronis, Program II (AB)
  • Francesco Pucci
  • Zhengtao Qu, GCS in Literature Program (AB)
  • Elizabeth Roy, Psychology (BS)
  • Nicholas Simmons, GCS in Literature Program (AB)
  • Isadora Toledo
  • Mona Tong, Public Policy Studies (AB)
  • Daniella Welton, Economics (BS)
  • Madelyn Winchester, Public Policy Studies (AB)
  • Andrew Witte
  • Ami Wong
  • Sarah Xu, Economics (BS)

/zcommunity Team Members

  • Grant Glass, PhD Student, UNC-Chapel Hill (English & Comparative Literature)
  • Tift Merritt
  • Tania Munz, National Humanities Center